The Protector

Author: Jodi Ellen Malpas

Genre: Contemporary romance, romantic suspense,  erotic romance

Rating: 1.5/5

Oh, boy!!! Where to begin! You know that feeling of extreme excitement and elation upon receiving a book you’ve been wanting so badly, by an author you have come to adore? Well, that’s the feeling I had when The Protector by Jodi Ellen Malpas finally arrived in the mail a few days ago. Upon starting the book, I found it to be quite slow, but no big deal, right? I mean, some books start off slowly only to end up being incredible! Unfortunately, that was not the case with this book. I just finished reading the last chapter, and I feel utterly empty. I NEED a good story so badly, and I was truly hoping this would be that story. It was not.

While the author started with a topic that was interesting enough, she just didn’t build a great story with the theme she chose. I didn’t care for the characters in the slightest bit. The female was supposed to be in her 20’s. Yet, I had to contunually remind myself of this due to her immature behavior (mid-late teens perhaps). The suspense build-up surrounding the HUGE secret was weak, and the secret itself was nothing worth being so secretive about. Especially in this day in age. I think there were 2-3 sex scenes, which weren’t drawn out enough and weren’t very hot at all, nothing that evoked a hot-and-bothered feeling whatsoever.

To be fair, I absolutely LOVED this author’s previous series (One Night Series and This Man Series), but this book was an absolute flop. I recommend reading those 2 series, but in my opinion, this one is a definite pass.

Leave a Reply

